Sarah J. Maas Book Signing

image

Let me tell you, Sarah J. Maas is such a precious gem and everyone should meet her even if they do not like her books. The author herself gives me incentive now to finish the whole series because she’s simply charming, funny, and really down-to-earth.

What I Did:

I went to Barnes and Noble at 10am right when the doors open even though she wouldn’t be there until 5pm. Okay, my friends hauled me there at that time because they were bigger fans of ToG than I am. The event reeked of miscommunication because when my friend called to ask about the book signing, people told her that it was first come, first serve basis depending on wristbands. Upon further inquiry on a second call, she was then given information that the wristbands were given out all day which means it starts on the store’s opening hour. But we got there and didn’t realize we had to buy a Sarah J. Maas book on that day in order to qualify for book signing and the wristband hand-outs have been postponed to 1pm. Bad, bad Barnes and Noble. The staff were very vague on details and eventually figured out that readers need only to have bought a book from Barnes and Noble on any given day to qualify. But boy was I glad to go early because Maas had a huge turnout (for an author) and around a hundred people showed up! (Sorry, I’m just so used to seeing huge crowds of fans because I’ve watched so many Bangtan Boys videos, haha!) I was number 10 in line so I was able to get my book signed, talk to her while she was still fresh and alert, and get the heck out of the rowdy bookstore.


What She Did:

She had a discussion with a blogger, Q&A with the crowd which mostly consisted of female teens with several outliers of boys and adults, and the book signing. I felt absolutely proud of her because she carried herself so well and interacted actively with the audience despite her giddiness and lack of sleep. She tried to warn us that she had been up since 5am since she’d just flown in from New Mexico. Aww, I truly understand because I did the same thing twice on the flights to and from Taiwan…the waking at 5am thing, that is.

Sometime forgot to tell me this important detail so I was taken aback when I first met her: She’s very funny. Despite what her writing may say about her, she’s easy to converse with and very modern with her words. Of course, she’s pretty too which most people have said already. Man, some people just have it all: the talents, the looks, and the mulahh. Sarah felt self-conscious but she played it off pretty nicely. She referred to her best friends Alexander Bracken “Brack Attack” and Susan Dennard when asked who she’d want to cast in a T-Swift “Bad Blood” M/V. She also cutely poked fun at her husband and labelled him as Dobby the elf. Except her husband doesn’t get the reference since he’s never read Harry Potter. (The audience gasped and the blogger asked how they got married. Maas says she’ll refrain from answering because her husband is here.) She says she’s like a tyrant in her house ordering her husband to give back massages and forbidding him his sock of freedom.

Some discussion answers:

My husband and I pretty much got together like how most people do. ‘Oh you’re good looking and I’m…well, okay-looking so let’s get together!’ Yeah, it’s the universal love story. -laughs-
When asked who to choose to be on an island with: Unlike some person in the house, Rhysand would give me foot massages if we met! If I was with Aedion, he’d pretty much be Jack Sparrow, running around drinking rum and he’d at some point strip down to…a leaf. He would make a loincloth out of a leaf and he would be proud of it too! I would not want to be on an island with Aelin, though.
Apples or Bananas? Bananas. Oh, I love apples too but I have a problem eating bananas in public for obvious reasons. I have to cover my face while I eat it but wait, that makes it worse since it’s standing up straight when I eat it.
This one time, a girl came up to me and told me ‘your writing is like liquid gold’ so I answered back ‘Ah, so it’s like Velveeta!’ but she didn’t get the joke…
I love animals so much! So I guarantee you, the sole survivor at the end of this series is Fleetfoot!

The discussion was very lively, if you can’t tell from some of the sentences she spouted. I didn’t get the full name of the blogger but she will most likely post up the answers verbatim on her blog!

For Q&A, the questions were finally opened up to the floor. I was in the front row but I realized it made the blogger less likely to pick me since it would be considered proximity bias. So I didn’t even bother raising my hand.
A girl asked her if she used real people as model for her book characters: My husband sometimes walks into my room and says “That was totally me that you based Chaol and Rowan on.” And I just look at him like what are you talking about?…first, my characters are super fit, and second they’re freaking hot! So no, I don’t model any characters after people in real life. However, I do draw from my experiences to portray female friendships.

Another girl asked her what foods her character would be like: Oh I love food if you couldn’t tell already! (This was in referral to that one time she was eating ribs while watching human cannabalism in the Walking Dead. She didn’t finish her plate.) Dorian would be like the most delicious homemade mac-and-cheese you’ve ever tasted.
Rowan is like a box of chocolates exactly like the box he bought Aelin in Heir of Fire. Every piece is a surprise that when you bite in, you never know what you’re going to get.
Aelin is the huge sundae that you made yourself for the first time in the kitchen when your parents are gone. You add like everything to it because you can.
Sam is like the In-and-Out burger with animal-style fries that you enjoy and eat but then it’s gone. 
-cue collective sighs- Sorry but that man is dead.

Sarah was really sweet and I thoroughly enjoyed basking in her presence. I chatted a bit with her while she signed my book. She told me she can’t remember the last time she read a book which I thought was so ironic in and of itself. I hope she gets some rest because she’s been a champion, churning out these books like crazy. The fifth book’s draft has been completed and A Court of Thorns and Roses #2 will be out sometime in the summer so all hail Queen Maas!!!

She also left us a slight spoiler for ACoTaR Book 2 (highlight to read): Rhysand can teleport.
image

4 thoughts on “Sarah J. Maas Book Signing

  1. Wow!….. Just… Wow!……. You are one lucky person to have this experience! I laugh at BArnes and Nobel’s way to buy book from them for the signing attendance… Very good business tactic indeed!
    I had agood laugh at your post… The banana! Even i feel embarassed to eat it in public! 😀 ……

    As for ACoTaR… I have a copy of the book but haven’t started reading it.. I am finishing the Immortal guardians then i will begin with ACoTaR..

    Thanks for that lively post!

    Like

    • Thanks!! Yep, the publishing world has to be very cunning in order to get readers to read and buy books. The whole banana incident came out of left field because the blogger said, “Let’s start off with a tame question. Apples or bananas?” I didn’t think she would screw that one up!! Haha I wondered how the tweens felt hearing about this.
      Have fun reading ACoTaR! I’d love to hear your views on it.

      Like

Leave a Reply

